Red Durano Sprint Triathlon Series Leg 3

July 1, 2012

What a way to kick off the new month! Today I joined the 3rd Leg of the Congressman Red Durano Triathlon Series in Danao City and finished the sprint triathlon distance of 750m swim – 20km bike – 5km run in 1hr & 46mins. AND, i placed 3rd in my age group. OHYEAAHHHBABY!!! 😀 so proud!!!

IMG_0141

It was my first time to swim in open, super wavy waters and it was freakin’ crazy difficult. Every time I breathed, waves of water would slap me in the face and I ended up drinking a LOT of salty seawater. ugh. DMD! I ended the swim part in about 20 to 22 minutes then proceeded to the transition area for the bike part.

IMG_0142

By then the sun had started to shine so bright and it was MAJOR init. I was also so thirsty the whole time but I forced myself to pedal faster without stopping for water. The roads were also a bit difficult to navigate because we had to contend with Ceres buses, jeeps, cars, tricycles, and lots of speeding motorcycles. Super scary but I managed to survive. I felt SO RELIEVED when I finally went back to the transition area to begin the run part. By then I had been racing for more than 1 hour so I made sure to take my GU Power Gel for energy.

During the run part we had to do 2 loops. On the first loop, for about 2.5kms, my legs refused to rotate. I was tired and a bit dehydrated so I went on a very slow but steady space. i tried not to walk so as not to destroy the momentum. At the start of the second loop I started to feel better especially after a race marshall showered me with cold water. I miraculously started getting stronger and managed to pick up my pace on the last 1km. When I finally crossed the finish line I was all smiles knowing that the race is over and that I finished strong. 🙂

IMG_0130

Whew! Triathlon-ing is a lot more fun than running so I hope I get to do more of this in the near future. In the mean time I know I have to train extra hard on all the discplines. Most esp biking & running. Plus, I need to practice swimming in open water more. I’m so proud of my podium finish medal! 🙂 Goodjob Mickieeeeeeee!!!!!!

IMG_0177

THANK YOU’s:
– Abigail Lua & Peter Dy for being my triathlon classmates today!

IMG_0137
– Peter for pumping air into my tires and helping me w/ my bike and of course, for lunch! 😀

IMG_0176
– Coach Marlon & Hannah Galo for your support

IMG_0139
– Dudin Villo kay ikaw nag galgal nako nga join ani. haha :p

IMG_0162
– Mam Missy Torralba for shouting my name and cheering me on

Leave a comment