one big food post.

**for my second September 1, 2010 entry**

the -BER months are here! and before you know it its’ going to be Christmas again! weeeee! BUSY days at BBook & BBabies are fast approaching! go go go! or as mdm Lau would say it, Vamos!

today’s breakfast: oatmeal w/ apples & cinnamon plus cheese & egg (whites) sandwich plus banana. i know, what a heavy breakfast. haha! sige nalang.. give chance. gi gutom ko!

heavy wednesday breakfast

for the entire day today i just stayed at the BBabies studio. it was quite a slow day so i busied myself with admin duties. i did get to accomplish a lot work-wise today. so i think its a good sign of my work mojo coming back. 🙂

for lunch i had my usual salad but this time with mandarin oranges. i’ve been trying to look for ways to make my salad more interesting. but today i realized that feta cheese and mandarin oranges don’t really go well together. haha!

Wednesday's salad lunch

later in the day i decided to head down to the supermarket again because there were a few things that i needed. i took photos of my purchases but first let me continue with the food photos.

for dinner which i took in the car en route to the gym, i had a turkey ham, egg (whites) and cheese sandwich with Silk Soya Milk in Vanilla and some Baked Classic Lay’s potato chips (which i got from the supermarket).

Wednesday's dinner!

my gym session today went great until i reached the last part. here’s what i did:

3 minutes circling (1 min interval)

stretch

15 minutes bike

3 rounds 2 minutes shadow boxing

2 rounds 3 minutes punch mitts

3 rounds 2 minutes punching bag

3 rounds circuit weight & abs training – this was such a killer! this included 12 different exercises that i did consecutively with about 12 to 15 reps and 2 lbs or 5 lbs weights plus push ups, dips, crunches. by the time i finished 3 sets of this i was so incredibly tired that i couldn’t continue w/ my 30-minute bike anymore. 😦 di na kaya promise!!!

when i got home i helped myself to my post-workout grub. Silk Soy Milk in Vanilla, Quaker Oats Apple Cinnamon Cookies and a banana.

Wednesday's after gym meal

and since i wanted to blog about my supermarket purchases today, i did some picture taking. here are today’s healthy options all bought from Robinson’s Supermarket in BTC:

1.) my gorgeous Envirosax eco-friendly bag filled with all my goodies. say no to plastic! 🙂 i want to get 1 more of this! the designs are so pretty!

what's in the bag?

2.) Group shot of all my purchases

healthy options

so there’s grapes, wheat bread fr Postrio, baked Lay’s Potato Chips, Quaker Oats Granola Bars, wheat buns fr Postrio, Dole diced peaches (for my oatmeal), Silk Soy Milk in Vanilla, Tuna Burger Patties and Sky Flakes FIT Crackers.

i’m going to high light a few of my more interesting buys in the next few photos.

3.) Lay’s Baked Classic Potato Chips

healthier than the regular one

lately i’ve been loving the taste of potato chips paired with my sandwiches. i’ve never been one to crave junk food. i’ve always been more of a sweets person than a junk food person. so i don’t know why i’m getting attracted to these. last week it was Kettle Chips now it’s Lay’s! i grabbed this the moment i saw the word BAKED. i guess anything baked should be healthier? i had a small handful of these together w/ my turkey ham sandwich and it was sooooooooo lami! 😀 i promise not to eat this alone for the sake of just eating. i will always use this as a siding to my sandwiches.

4.) Silk Soy Milk

got milk?

i was so happy to see this in the supermarket! 😀 both Starbucks and Coffee Cat have this and i’ve promised to myself to make this my healthy option whenever i’m having coffee w/ friends there. and you know how much only sa Robinson’s? P44.25 whereas it’s P80 at those expensive cafes! weeeee! i’ll be sure to buy more of this next week! i’ve already consumed the 2 tetra packs that i got. haha! excited kaayo ko to drink it. this is my first time to have the Vanilla flavor. i actually like it better than the Chocolate variant because i can taste the Soy more.

5.) Tuna Burger Patties

a different kind of tuna

i was so inspired by PBFingers post on Salmon burgers (read here) that i got so excited to make my own healthy burger. the old Mickie only knew of McDonald’s Double Cheeseburger w/ Large French Fries plus Large Coke but now that i’m trying to live healthier, i’ll try to make this one tomorrow. i couldn’t find a Salmon burger patty same as PBFingers’ but i guess this will do. besides, salmon is mega expensive-o! mau ra ni akong ma afford noh! the packaging says 0 Trans Fat, No MSG, and rich in Omega 3. i guess these make this Tuna Burger Patty a good healthy option. 🙂

so that’s all for today’s supermarket purchases. sometimes i don’t like to open PBFingers blog anymore because i know i’ll find another recipe i’ll want to try then i’ll think i’ll NEED to go to the supermarket again. haha! mau ka michellego! :p

oh, i also kept 2 of my purchases in my drawer and not in the kitchen pantry where all the food should be. this morning i caught my brother innocently eating my Quaker Oats Granola Bar and i wanted to strangle him. excuse me!!! that’s my food! wa nala’y kwenta akong healthy eating ani if you eat everything that i buy! gaaaaaaaah! so my Lay’s and granola bars are safely hidden in my desk drawer here in my room. selfish much?! hahah!

hide and seek!

whew! finally done with my 3-day backlog. tomorrow’s a new day! looking forward to jazz class and a little get together w/ some high school friends to celebrate our friend Princess’ passing in the medical board exam. yay! Congrats Ces! 😀

p.s. i hope this Jackson 5 CD collection will reach Philippine shores. i’ll be sure to get my hands on it. the buying of Michael Jackson stuff just never stops for me!

must have this!

i love you Michael Jackson!

Happy Thursday everyone! the weekend is almost here. yeaaaaaaahhh!!!

what i did/ate/bought (part 2)

** September 1, 2010 entry. say what?? September ALREADY?!?**

i’ve been trying to catch up with my daily blogging but sometimes i get really pressed for time. i promised to myself that i’d only blog when i have nothing better to do so i never do this at work. when i get home from my day, after i’ve showered and before i hit the sack, that’s my blog time. so i apologize (to myself and to my few loyal readers) for this major backlog. let me start with Monday.

August 30, 2010 Monday

today’s a holiday for most people but holidays only mean BUSINESS for BBabies. it’s been tried and tested already that during days when parents are free from work, they all line up to have their babies’ photos taken at our studio. so i found myself with a very FULL schedule.

but first, let me share w/ you what i had for today’s menu:

breakfast: Oatmeal (walang kamatayang oatmeal) with Peaches and dusting of nutmeg.

lunch: my usual salad with feta cheese and turkey ham slices

monday's salad lunch

dinner: Turkey Ham  & Kraft American Cheese Singles on Wheat Bread (no picture)

before i headed out to the gym i dropped by Thirsty to try out the “Lite” versions of their shakes. i ordered a Banana Split shake and was pleased to know that they used Splenda instead of the regular sugar and Skim Milk instead of the regular milk. see? even Thirsty is joining the healthy eating bandwagon! 🙂 love it! my shake didn’t even taste so bad at all!

Healthy Thirsty!

tonight i had a pretty OK workout. im so happy that my trainer Joseph is back and fully recovered from his leg injury. i am only inspired to give my 100% at the gym whenever he’s around. i’m just not so comfortable with other trainers. so for tonight, since i haven’t been working out a lot the past weeks, i did this:

3 minutes circling with 1 minute intervals (my hatest exercise! ugh!)

stretch

15 minutes bike

2 minutes 2 rounds shadow boxing

3 rounds 2 minutes punch mitts

2 rounds 2 minutes speed ball

20 minutes bike (1 min high, 1 min low)

20 minutes elliptical

after working out, i headed to my favorite massage place and had a lovely 1 hour foot massage with my one and only favorite masseuse. i never go to this massage parlor anymore if my suki is not there. hehe. and since i was still feeling so hungry when i got home, i prepared for myself a toasted slice of wheat bread with ooey gooey Cheez Whiz on top plus Nestle Fruit Selection Yogurt in Melon Nata.

after gym!

going back to my day at BBabies, i’m happy to say that i think we’ve found our groove when it comes to back to back photo sessions. for some reason i didn’t feel so stressed out even if babies came in one after the other. i guess it’s because my team and i have already found a way to make things smoother. from the preparation of costumes, to the set up, to the shoot, to the selection of photos, etc. after 4 months of operations we’ve actually gotten the hang of the so-called mega BUSY day. so hooray for us! 😀

and let me just talk about the second to the last baby we shot today. oh my goodness. this is the baby that ALMOST made me want to have one of my own right then and there. hahaha! meet Enzo, the baby who can laugh on command. i swear. when you laugh he mimics your laughter and giggles like he’s the sweetest little thing on the planet. when you stop laughing he stops too. Enzo was a DREAM to shoot. if only all babies were like him our job would be so much easier. 😀 i spent a few minutes playing with him while his parents selected their photos for printing and i must admit i totally fell in love with the little guy. just look at this photo. don’t tell me you’re not giggling yourself? 😀

chubby cheeks Enzo the bumble bee!

so my monday was a great way to start the week. work was a blast, i stuck to my diet, plus i had a pretty good workout. 🙂

August 31, 2010 (Tuesday)

i’ve gotten so used to just walking past the dining table every time i come down for breakfast and just head straight to the kitchen to prepare my meals for the day. i say prepare because i don’t actually cook them. i let our helper do the actual cooking then i assemble them and put them in my food container. here’s today’s food:

tuesday!

breakfast: i skipped the usual oatmeal today and opted for a Filipino-Continental Breakfast (in hotel restaurant lingo). 3 pieces chorizo (thank you again for this Karen King! mwah!) , 2 pieces toast and 1 fried egg white. plus my usual Nestle Fruit Selection yogurt. this was soooo filling! yummm!

lunch: spinach pasta w/ tomato-basil sauce and broccoli plus a sprinkling of parmesan cheese and ground basil. another very filling meal! super lami! i love how our helper cooked it – so rich and thick with lots of onions and garlic. plus the broccoli! oh my!!! i want to have this again soon!

dinner: salmon and cream cheese sandwich which i ate together with the slices of peaches and apples that you see on the upper left food container. i daresay salmon and cream cheese are meant to be together. just deeeeeeelish!

today is payroll day so i spent most of my time at the Colon office. it was almost closing time when i got to BTC to deliver orders and to give my staff their salary. i like to leave them little notes at the back of their pay slips to tell them what they need to improve on and what they did that we appreciate. this is part of my efforts to become a better employer. i hope its working! 🙂

after work i still had to deliver some orders to BBook in Ayala so i opted to skip the gym. hahay mickiego, just where the F is your self control?! so i did a little strolling in the mall and dropped by Watson’s to buy my required night and day creams. i just can’t live without moisturizers and i just finished the Garnier ones i’ve been using for the past month or so. this time i opted to go for Olay and i really think i’ll stick to this brand. lately i’ve been seeing little fine lines on each side of my nose going down to my lip. yuck! i hope these age-defying Olay products will help them go away. and beauty magazines have said once you hit your mid-twenties, age-defying creams especially ones with SPF 20 and above become your best friends.

my BFFs! LOL!

from Watson’s i headed down to Hollywood Nails Salon & Spa to get my nails done. sosyal kaayo ko ug life noh? shopping, pampering, and all. feeling datu kaayo ni si mickiego! hahahah! :p i don’t know why i thought i needed to pamper myself today. but my nails needed cleaning and a new polish. the treatment i went for cost me A LOT but it included a 1 hour massage chair plus both mani & pedi. i liked the service at Hollywood Nails, the place was clean and comfortable but shux… i guess i’m just not meant to polish my nails at all. by the time i got home the polish on my fingernails were an ugly mess and the ones on my toes were a bit chipped off too. waaaaah! and to think mahal kaayo! promise that this is going to be the last time i attempt to put polish on my nails. i’m just not meant for this i guess. 😐

2 more highlights that i want to share for today:

1.) i woke up to a text message from my friend Shelly saying: Mic! Can you be the reader for our wedding this November 13? i replied with a resounding Of course! i’m so excited for Shelly! 😀 this is going to be my second time to read for a wedding. The first time was at Cecille’s where i did second reading. oh my.. that feels like so long ago already! haha! and the first time i was a bridesmaid was for my friend Karen’s wedding last year 😀 i so loved that experience especially because i was with Ilene and Mimerz as my fellow entourage. my goodness.. all my friends are getting married! ikaw mickiego??!!

2.) i got an email from my camera club friend Clem with the subject: I’m a big boy now! and oooooohh my goodness! it’s my godson baby Niño! Clem sent me this photo of him. isn’t he adorable? those curls are just to cute for words! i can’t wait to see Niño and his sister Bianca again!

photo by his mommy Clem

so there… that’s monday and tuesday for you. i’m going to make a separate entry for Wednesday because i have a pretty good number of pictures to upload. so stay tuned! 🙂