happily working on a saturday.

September 11, 2010

i had nothing in my agenda today except for a photo coverage assignment of one of our clients at BBabies. i’m working on this lovely Saturday but it’s alright because anything that involved cute kids and picture taking is always fun for me. it’s only the standing for so many hours that’s tiring. hehe. so i took my own sweet time this morning preparing my food and preparing my gear for the shoot.

today’s menu:

breakfast – i went back to an old favorite Oatmeal w/ Bananas and Peanut Butter plus a slice of toast with Bananas and Peanut Butter. can i just say that this is one of my all-time favorite combinations? 🙂

peanut butter + banana = love

lunch – my usual salad with an additional ingredient – boiled egg slices. i think its the eggs that made my salad so yummy today. and my lettuce leaves were extra crunchy because i just bought them yesterday. 🙂

salad forever

i had to eat my lunch at the car while waiting for the party to start because i didn’t want to start taking pictures on an empty stomach. look how green the lettuce leaves are! i didn’t even need to edit this.

green na green

and this is me with Saturday afternoon’s grub. yumyumyum!

pakals time!

dinner – i had the last tuna burger patty in the freezer made into a yummy tuna burger with fried egg(whites) and cheese. i had no more wheat burger buns so i had to make do with my regular wheat bread.

tuna burger again

outfit:

the party’s motif is green so even if i went there as a photographer and not as a guest, i still decided to wear green. this is an SMDS draped top paired with the same jeans i wore on thursday. i like that this top is roomy enough for me to move around and be comfortable while doing a photo coverage. i don’t have to worry about any bilbils sticking out or whatever. hehe. i’m wearing a necklace given to me by my friend Princess and of course, my everyday uniform, Suelas shoes in Puntera Plata.

green is in

activity:

photo assignment

the party was for the 1st birthday of our BBabies client Zoie Cassandra. my assistant and i spent a little over 3 hours of snapping away at our cameras trying to capture each and every happy moment of family and friends getting together, feasting on great food, and simply enjoying each other’s company. this was such a fun party to shoot. thank you to Zoie’s mom and grandparents for choosing BBabies as their official photographer. Happy Birthday baby Zoie! 😀

sweets for a sweetie

one thing that made me so happy during Zoie’s party was when her cousin, this cute little boy got up on stage. the host said he was going to do an impromptu number. in my mind i went please let it be a Michael Jackson song! please please! and OMG! when the first few chords of the song started i said.. hmm… familiar. then when the little boy opened his mouth to sing i totally went awwwwwwwww….. and i literally felt my heart turn to mush. the boy sang Michael Jackson’s Ben. so so so sweeeeeet! i stopped taking pictures and converted to video mode instead. here’s a small clip from the little boy’s performance. he so totally made my day! 🙂

chill out session w/ Anya & Lauren

after Zoie’s party i headed over to Lauren’s place still in Mactan Island to spend some quality time with my favorite girls. Anya, to my utter delight, was already there way before i arrived. so what do 3 fun, feisty, single girls do on a lovely saturday night like this? watch TV and poke fun with ourselves on my computer’s Photo Booth! wahahahah!!! dili lagi mi losers. dili sad mi mga gore. we just want to hibernate. :p wala’ y mag buot. lingaw man mi beh! hahahah! sige michelle, convince yourself some more. :p here’s us three playing with the Photo Booth Effects.

mga wa'y lingaw on a saturday night

and me and Anya making like a real Foto-Me. i love the sepia and black and white pics! 🙂

me & my milestone friend

that’s how my saturday went. everything’s just chill in Life with Mickie and so far i’m pretty contented. i love my work, i have awesome friends, i’m into healthy eating, i’m inspired by my love Michael Jackson, my baby doggies love me, my family’s dysfunctional but still together. i am contented and i have a lot to be thankful for.

i thank you. bow.

semi-productive friday.

September 10, 2010

it was another one of those days when i felt so totally lazy. got up extra late again, then headed down to the kitchen to assemble my meals for today. i say assemble because i instruct or helper to do the actual cooking the night before. the following morning all the cooking’s done and all i have to do is to mix, mash, or put together the cooked ingredients. promise one of these days i’ll TRY to do the cooking. heehee. :p

for today’s menu:

breakfast: Fitness Cereal (no picture)

lunch: i followed another recipe from my Yummy cookbook! 😀 it’s called Pasta with Chicken, Garlic, and Basil.

my second Yummy recipe

i healthy-fied my version of this by using wheat pasta. at my first taste it was rather bland. so i sprinkled some parmesan cheese, added ground basil, and diced tomatoes. after mixing all these together, i tasted it, and proudly said, WOW! ka lami!!! hahaha! :p i shall make this again very soon!

added some grilled wheat bread sticks

snack/dessert: i made another fruit bowl today with the only fruits i found in our ref. and can i just say that i did all the cutting/chopping of these fruits with an actual knife? weeeee! i’m not that scared of mr. knife anymore! i am one step closer to being more domesticated na!

apples, peaches and mandarin oranges

here’s my baon all packed and ready to go! 🙂 question. what’s the english for baon? pack lunch?

pack lunch/dinner/snack

dinner: baked butter-lemon tilapia with steamed broccoli and corn kernels. i made pataka lang with this because i saw in the freezer that we have tilapia fillets. so i asked our maid to season the fish w/ salt and pepper, lightly coat the fish with butter, and squeeze some calamansi on top. i wouldn’t say this was super kaduper delicious. so-so lang but i wouldn’t mind having this same meal again soon. 🙂 i ate my dinner at home  na because i didn’t go to the gym today. 😐

baked lemon-butter tilapia

who knew i’d start to love eating fish instead of my usual (and my favorite) pork? i’m really aiming to cut down on my pork and beef intake so as of late i’ve been having a lot of fish and chicken. i still have my bacon bits on my salad though, and sometimes my ham sandwich. i’m not completely writing pork and beef off my menu  but i’m just saying i’ll cut down. 🙂

outfit:

lately i’ve been trying to explore and dig into my closet further to find clothes tops that i could wear again paired with my new choice of bottoms which are my leggings. so this top which i got from the MEPZ bazaar last Christmas for only P100  got to see the light of day again. paired with my newly bought jeggings, a necklace, my Aldo watch and my Suelas in Llanura Nude.

jeggings lovin'

work: (shameless plug alert!)

i declared today to be semi-productive because i was finally able to finish making the poster for BBook‘s 3rd Anniversary promo. can you believe its our 3rd year already??? so as a treat to our customers we’re giving out a 50% discount on their SECOND orders of Large Hard Cover Photo Books. meaning, buy 1, get the 2nd for 50% off. great deal noh? this is only for 3 days (September 17, 18, & 19) in time for Ayala’s Green Sale.

happy 3 years BBook!

BBabies also has an exciting promo this month. we’re giving out GROUP DISCOUNTS on our membership. so if you enroll in groups of 2 you each get a 10% discount, group of 3 a 15% discount and for groups of 4 and above a 20% discount. we’re hoping that this will encourage more people to enroll in our Membership. promo will last for the whole month of September. here’s our promo layout designed by my business partner Dan.

come in groupss!

oh, and BBabies also got featured at Cebu Daily News one of our major local dailies. i’m so thankful that we have all these connections so it’s easy for us to make hangyo to newspaper editors to include a little write up on our business. these press releases go a long way in terms of making the public more aware of our services. Thank you CDN! 🙂

much needed press release

what else:

after work i had to visit my Lolo at the hospital because he got confined after having severe bouts of hubak. turns out it’s pneumonia. yikes! since it was my mom’s turn to make bantay that night i accompanied her at the hospital for about an hour. so i had to skip the gym again. sige lang, i guess family matters are more important. Lolo is set to check out of the hospital tomorrow afternoon. thank God. 🙂

when my aunt and cousins arrived to take over, mom and i left and headed to Ayala to do some grocery shopping. hay salamat sponsored akong grocery! weeeeee! happy! :p i guess you could say i splurged a bit on my grocery this time kay i took advantage of mom being there. so i got the following:

grocery for the 2nd time this week

1.) whole wheat spaghetti (our helper stupidly consumed the entire pack this morning. i told her to cook enough for 1 serving only but i guess she didn’t understand. hai…)

2.) whole wheat rigatoni pasta – i bought this because i want to follow another pasta recipe

3.) shrimp patties – i just randomly saw this in the freezer and got it because it reminded me of Wendy’s Shrimp burger. (Wendy’s! open na here in Cebu please!!!)

4.) smoked salmon – i got a bigger pack this time because i’ll need this for the same recipe i’m going to follow for the rigatoni pasta. plus, i think salmon is really my favorite fish na. so tasty and filling! (too bad its so expensive! hahahah!)

and a few others that are repeat purchases. i just want to say it again, i LOVE grocery shopping now as much as i love shopping for clothes. 🙂 nagka domesticated na gyud ka michellego! lalaki nalang kulang! wahahahah!!! :p

when i got home i popped in my Zumba DVD and started swaying and grooving to the music. i did less than an hour’s workout only because i got so tired. hai. i really need to improve on my endurance. i’m planning to do this again 2 or 3 times next week.

TGIF! hope you all are enjoying the long weekend so far! 🙂